NYS Interior Design:License Requirements

General Requirements |
Fees |
Partial Refunds |
Education and Experience Requirements |
Credit for Education |
Examination Requirement

General Requirements

Any use of the title “Certified Interior Designer,” within
New York State requires licensure.

To be licensed as a certified interior designer in New York State you
must:

  • be at least 21 years of age
  • meet education and examination requirements
  • meet experience requirements
  • be of good moral character

You must submit an application for licensure and the other forms indicated,
along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the
address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up
with anyone you have asked to send us material.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article
161
,
Section 8305 of New York Education Law and Section
52.18
and
Subpart 79-3 of the Commissioner’s
Regulations.

You should also read the

Read More

California Interior Design | Interior Designer Requirements

FAQ IDEX® California Exam

Q: When is the IDEX® California exam be given?

A: The IDEX® California examination will be given for a month in the Spring (May 1 – 31) and for a month in the Fall (October 1 – 31).

Q. What is cost to take the IDEX® California exam?

A: The cost to take the IDEX® California is $600 for Path 2 and Path 2; and $500 for Path 3 and Path 4. International candidates fee is $800.

Q: What if I failed the IDEX® California? What is my cost to retake it, and when is my registration deadline for the next exam?

A: For those who already took the IDEX® California and failed, their deadline to register is the next exam’s scheduled  deadline ‘to get in all paperwork’ (as you already have an application and file with CCIDC). The cost is $450.00  to

Read More